Seven Faculty Honored for Exceptional Teaching

Harmen Bussemaker receiving a Distinguished Columbia Faculty Award in 2010
Harmen Bussemaker, an associate professor of biological sciences, was among seven professors chosen to receive the Distinguished Columbia Faculty Award this year. Biochemistry major Andrei Dinu-Ionita (right) presented Bussemaker with his award. (Eileen Barroso)

Every year, Columbia recognizes top arts and sciences faculty for their accomplishments in the classroom and as researchers by presenting them with the Distinguished Columbia Faculty Awards. The awards, which include stipends of $25,000 per year for three consecutive years, are made possible by a $12 million donation by Trustee Gerry Lenfest ’58LAW, ’09HON.

This year’s winners are Germanic languages scholar Stefan Andriopoulos, biologist and genomics expert Harmen Bussemaker, feminist literary and culture critic Julie Crawford, philosopher of music Lydia Goehr, environmental scientist Steven Goldstein ’76CC, ’86GSAS, chemist Ruben Gonzalez Jr., and anthropologist David Scott.

Crawford, an associate professor of English and comparative literature, says that being an exceptional teacher requires respecting your students: “This means taking them seriously as intellectuals and fellow inquirers, helping them to discover a wide range of skills and tools, and pushing them beyond passivity, quiescence, easy answers, and emulation.”

The professors were honored at a Faculty House dinner on February 16.